The new girls on the block

The Girls: Elsa, Anna and Tinkerbell

The Girls: Elsa, Anna and Tinkerbell

Well we have some new girls at our residence. We didn’t think that 3 girls to 1 husband/dad was enough so we called in reinforcements to better our share. I think 6 to 1 will do it.

 

Our new girls have been on the cards for quite some time. I have been itching to get some hens in the garden to utilise all our food scraps, to make some delicious eggy delights and also to teach the girls about caring for animals (without having to have a real pet!).

The elusive egg

The elusive egg

So I worked hard on husband, and once he was convinced I then worked hard on the chicken coop. I scoured pinterest for coop ideas, and on the recommendation from a friend we settled on the idea of using our old swing set. I whipped up a PVC pipe pellet feeder, a chicken waterer and a “loverly” nesting box. All the while with husband shaking his head at my lack of skills with power tools and just the general clumsiness that is me. At one point I actually burst my finger open from hitting it with a hammer, much to his amusement. Anyhoo, it eventually got finished and I got excited about getting ourselves some little ladies to live in the coop.

 

Much to my surprise, South Australia had a chicken shortage, just at the time when I wanted my chookies. My visions of hearing the sweet berk-eeerrrkkk of some little egg machines were put on hold for the month that it would be to get some.

Stolen spinach

Stolen spinach

Soon though, the long wait was over and I got my chickens. Miss almost 4 was in charge of naming our little ladies and of COURSE, named them Elsa, Anna and Tinkerbell. If you don’t know where the first two names come from, you mustn’t have a young girl of any age. It’s from the movie Frozen.

 

Right now, we are getting 1 egg every second day and those little beauties are delicious. I’m looking forward to those eggs increasing in numbers and getting my teeth into some meringues, souffles and omelettes.

The view

The view

The girls love their chookies, and love watching them from their cubby balcony. The sneak my spinach from the garden through the chicken wire for them and they take turns taking the scrap bucket down to the coop. I love that they are learning about using waste, where their food comes from and caring for living souls. And yes they do have souls, if you try to tell me otherwise I will come at you with my egg cup. Don’t mess with MY girls.

Egg-selent

Egg-selent

I love my girls, all 5 of them 🙂

 

The Dietitian Mummy

Leave a Reply

