Granola heaven

Granola heaven

Granola heaven

For ages I have been thinking about making granola. I’ve eaten it around the place before at café’s or my mums (mum LOVES granola). I’ve read about making it here and here. I’ve watched big sister make it before, but never have I gotten around to making it. Well, I can tell you right now, that is going to change from now on because on the weekend I had my first foray into granola making. It is safe to say that I, along with husband and the two girls, are all now granola mad.

 

The line up...

The line up…

After searching a few different recipes, I decided on a mixture of a few, but it is mostly like the link above along with some of my own additions. The making was definitely easier than I had previously thought. The girls, as usual, came clamouring into the kitchen the second they heard my pyrex mixing bowl clang onto the bench top. There they stayed, with Miss 3.5 asking every 5 seconds what part was her job. It’s a great kids cooking recipe because the mixing is fairly easy and you could even let the kiddies get their hands in there to mix too (if you can stop them from eating it that is).

 

Love me some nuts

Love me some nuts

The absolute best part was the smell. Oh my lordy the smell was amazing. It filled the whole house with a sweet delicious smell. I can still smell it on the scarf I wore that day mmmmmmmm. Husband returned from a surf and was practically dribbling at the oven door to see what it was. We ate it hot, scraping spoonfuls from the tray because we just couldn’t help ourselves. Chewy, hot sweet mouthfuls with the crunch of yummy hot nuts too. We also ate it cold once it was crunchy, over the top of each of our yoghurts. We eat it from the jar in the pantry. We take it to work as a snack. Miss 3.5 stands in the pantry looking at it and asking for the yummy crunchy stuff. We are sold.

 

The helpers

The helpers

I swear, mumsy smelt it from her house or something because just as I had finished cooking it, she magically turned up on the doorstep. I put some in a container for her and by the time she had a cuppa and went to leave, the majority of it was gone 🙂

 

Pre-bake

Pre-bake

So here’s how to make some of this crunchy, sweet delicious goodness….

 

Granola

Ingredients

3 cups oats

1 cup bran sticks

2 tablespoons canola oil

½ cup pure maple syrup

Squirt of honey

1 tablespoon brown sugar

About 1 ½ cups nuts (cashews and almonds in my case)

1 ½ cups cranberries

1 cup chopped dates

¼ cup chia seeds

 

Preheat your oven to about 150 degrees.

Mix together the oats, bran sticks, chia seeds, and nuts.

Mix together the wet ingredients and the sugar, then add to the dry ingredients.

Stir until all mixed together then spread out on a baking tray.

Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes, occasionally stirring around the mixture.

Add in the dried fruit for the last 5-10 minutes, watch closely to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Done!! Eat!!!

Leave a Reply

