Winter garden update

I think it’s high time for a garden update. For those who don’t remember what I started with here is the garden when I began.

 

Collecting "things"

Collecting “things”

Miss 3.5's flower patch

Miss 3.5’s flower patch

Galv bed

Galv bed

Well it’s been cold, blustery and wet here in Adelaide for about the past 2 months. It feels like to me, the coldest winter I can remember. Unfortunately a few pretty heavy storms have ripped through here (well for Adelaide anyway) and some of my plants have taken the toll. My lime and strawberries took the brunt 😦

The lime tree with no leaves

The lime tree with no leaves

Brown leaves on my sttawberries

Brown leaves on my strawberries

 

So I do believe I may have overplanted my galv bed because this is how it is looking now. There’s brussels on the left (one of my fave veggies and my first time try at growing them), celery next, poking it’s tiny seed shoots through and then the giants carrots and beetroot next. I am already shortlisting beetroot recipes in my head. My sister does an amazing beetroot tzadziki that I’ll be asking her for, roasted beetroot in salads and roast veggie bowls, beetroot puree ohhh the excitement.

 

A forest of carrots and beetroot

A forest of carrots and beetroot

Helloooo in there celery

Helloooo in there celery

My big pots are going well for some, like the spinach that I can’t keep up with. Just when I think I’ve used it a little too much and it’s cut right back, it pops back even thicker than before. No problems with that I say! I don’t eat a huge amount of red meat so getting iron in wherever I can is a must.

 

Spinach bottom left

Spinach bottom left

The broccoli in the pots isn’t going so great. It looks pretty sad actually. And the one stalk that has grown has gone to seed for some absurd reason. The dill that was poking through in between is still there but hasn’t done a thing. I’m guessing it’s waiting for some sun and will then start growing. The lettuce is going okay, it’s enough for our winter eating supply but I’m hoping that it will boost up before summer. I’m not sure if there is enough soil to support it though. There’s always dad’s lettuce patch though he he.

SONY DSC

Dismal broccoli

Lettuce backup

Lettuce backup

 

One pot that is going great and I am loving is the carrots and peas. There’s carrots that Miss 3.5 planted and then around it are peas growing up a wire “sculpture” I made. We both reckon it looks like a lady with a dress so we are hoping the peas cover it to make it a nice thick green dress.

 

The lady's dress

The lady’s dress

The back section of broccoli is going MUCH better. Bigger stalks, and more broccoli which makes me happy. I planted some other seeds and meant to write them down that night, but promptly forgot as usual so it’s another mystery seed game.

 

Mystery veggies

Mystery veggies

We also have another addition to the garden. My brother-in-law built this amazing cubby house for the girls and let’s just say they are in love. It’s already been named as Elsa’s frozen castle in the sky.

SONY DSC

Next step for the garden is my chickens. I can’t WAIT, like seriously can’t wait. We go through about 18 eggs in a week so having a fresh supply will be much appreciated.

 

Garden helpers all rugged up

Garden helpers all rugged up

Happiness is an amazing cubby in the sky

Happiness is an amazing cubby in the sky

So there you go, winter gardening update. Can’t wait to post when I actually have some produce to show!

 

Happy gardening,

 

The Dietitian Mummy.

Leave a Reply

