HFC – Healthy KFC

 
image

So it seems that just a few of you were interested in my HFC recipe 😉 I don’t blame you, it looks pretty darn amazing. And I can tell you it tastes just as good as it looks folks. Crispy and delicious, steaming hot and salty, almost like KFC. Almost, because you get more chicken. You get better chicken. It’s not deep fried and hence SO much healthier. And you can add it to your repertoire as a perfectly healthy alternative when you have that craving for the Colonel.

Now everybody is different and entitled to their own opinion, and quite often I hear about the place something along the lines of “urgghh I don’t know why people eat Maccas/Hungrys/KFC, I don’t even like the taste of it”. Well I’m sorry all of you non lovers, but I LOVE the taste of all three. I know that’s very un-dietitian and un-cooking-food-loving of me but my taste buds don’t discriminate. Give me a juicy burger or crunchy delicious KFC chicken any day of the week and I will be salivating. The problem obviously is if I ate these foods any day of the week I would not only be salivating but rolling down the street due to excess fat accumulation. So I often try to make healthier versions of the disgustingly bad foods that I love. One of them is KFC.
image

My love affair with this recipe started as many of my love affairs do, on Pinterest. I had spied this recipe and tried it many times. And loved it. However, there was always something missing. Until as usual, Jamie Oliver came along. With Save with Jamie and his JFC. The addition was not much but it was the key to get that extra crunch in the chicken that makes it even more like KFC. I will usually team it with typical KFC sides of corn on the cob, coleslaw and chips, obviously made at home otherwise what would be the point!

So here is the original recipe (ha ha see what I did there? KFC lovers will get it) and here is my recipe with tweaks.

HFC (Heidi “Fried” Chicken, or Healthy “Fried” Chicken).

About 12 pieces of chicken – can be thighs and drumsticks, or even breast cut into smaller parts. I take the skin off most of the time.

3/4 cup plain flour

1/4 cup polenta

2 tablespoons of Season All or All Purpose Seasoning (spicy if you like Zinger pieces)

1 teaspoon sweet paprika

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

1 tablespoon chicken salt (Matani is what we use)

1/2 teaspoon pepper

About 1.5 cups of milk

1 tablespoon margarine

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

Method

1. Soak the chicken in the milk for at least half an hour.

2. Put all your dry ingredients in a bowl
and stir until all combined.

3. Coat the chicken well in the flour/spice mix.

4. Melt the margarine and add the oil. Pour into a baking dish.

5. Put your chicken into the dish and turn to coat the chicken in the fat.

6. Bake in a moderate oven for about 50 minutes. Turning once.

7. Organise your sides and serve!

 

Get into it!

 

The Dietitian Mummy.

 

One thought on “HFC – Healthy KFC

Leave a Reply

