Nutty Friday – Pistachio edition

It’s nutty Friday time and today’s nut of choice is pistachio!

“Sugared dates, sugared dates and figs, sugared dates and pistachhhiiiooooossss” random market stall holder in Disney’s Aladin.

 Pistachios_amends

Who doesn’t love a good handful of pistachios? If you don’t, you can give me yours. The thing I love about pistachios is that there is the option to have them shelled. It really does slow down your ability to eat them so you can enjoy them for longer. I swear, I could eat cups and cups of them if they were in a bowl in front of me.

 

Today’s idea is a strange one for me, considering I usually don’t like fish. I am getting bwpid-20140623_170442.jpgetter, helped along by the notion that I actually never reach my omega 3 requirements. Like ever. Let me say though, this recipe made me like my most hated fish, and that is salmon. To the point where I don’t think I can even say that I don’t like it anymore. Anyways, here is the recipe. Have a go, it was surprisingly awesome.

 

Pistachio crusted atlantic salmon.

Pre-heat your oven to about 180 degrees.

Put into a blender (or stick mixer chopping apparatus) a handful of pistachios, 2 garlic cloves, a squeeze of lemon juice, some salt and pepper and a handful of herbs (chives and parsley were going well the day I made this). Blitz until they are a crumb-like consistency.

Spray a foil covered tray with oil, and lay out your salmon skin side down.

Use your hands to press the crumb into the fish.

Bake in the oven for about 10-15 minutes, obviously depending on your oven. Watch it like a hawk because it can overcook easily.

I have watched enough cooking shows to know that you are looking for the fish to be just a little bit translucent in the middle.

wpid-20140623_172731.jpg

Hope you enjoyed your nutty Friday. How do you eat your pistachios?

 

The Dietitian Mummy

Leave a Reply

