Pumpkin and cheese scones

wpid-20140602_141240.jpg

I was making some scones the other day because my friend (sister in law) was coming over (biggest sweet-tooth there ever was) and started making them from a recipe out of one of my favourite books – The Margaret Foulton Cookbook. So I put in the flour and started rubbing in the butter and realised that this recipe was going to make tonnes of scones. I love scones, but I love fresh scones. After a day, they lose appeal to me (and everyone else in this house) and so they get wasted. What do seem to last a bit longer than one day in terms of taste are savoury scones. So in my effort to minimise waste I split the dry ingredients and made the other half into savoury scones – Pumpkin and cheese to be exact.

wpid-20140602_133630.jpg

I flicked through a few recipes, all of which said to pre-cook the pumpkin. Something I really could not be bothered doing. So I made my own recipe and grated the pumpkin. It cooked perfectly and teamed with the cheese created a steaming little nugget of deliciousness. They were yummo warm and just as yum a few days later with a bit of margarine.

 

Pumpkin and cheese scones

1 1/2 cups self raising flour

30g butter or margarine

1/2 cup buttermilk (I used Margaret’s tip of putting 1/2 tsp of vinegar into normal milk for the same effect), plus after mixing I ended up adding about another tablespoon of milk

1 1/2 cups grated pumpkin

1 cup grated cheese

Method

Sift the flour into a bowl and rub the butter into the flour with your fingers (Miss 3 loves this part).

Add the pumpkin and cheese and stir to mix (can be done with hands).

Add the milk and stir again until formed. If it’s not coming together add in milk 1tsp at a time until its a slightly sticky dough that stays together.

Flip the dough out onto a floured bench top and give it a light knead and then form it into a semi-flattened circle (mine was probably about an inch high).

Use a cutter to cut out the scones and put into a cake tin lined with baking paper. Put them close together and they will help each other rise higher.

Bake in the oven (230 degrees) under golden brown on top and no longer mushy inside (sometimes difficult to tell with all that melted cheese in there) .

Let cool and then enjoy!

wpid-20140603_141517.jpg

Happy baking,

 

The Dietitian Mummy

Leave a Reply

