Chicken Patties

SONY DSC

I made the most amazing chicken patties the other day. So simple and they were sooo yummy. I had been to the butcher (and for some reason went a bit mince crazy) and ended up with chicken mince among the other things I bought. I have always thought it is cheaper to buy patties already made and have bought them purely for ease but as with most things, I get a bit skeptical when I don’t know what is in something.

Anyhoo, the mince was $6.99/kg and I got half, so spent $3.50 and the chicken patties were 50c each to buy at the butcher.

This girl loves couscous

This girl loves couscous

I had 4 slices of old bread (week old wholemeal to be exact) that I put in my food processor, one of my favourite inventions in the kitchen, and made into fresh breadcrumbs. I chucked that in with the mince along with an onion, 2 garlic cloves, a handful of basil and sage from the garden, an egg and some salt (detailed recipe below).

Squished it all up with my fingers and then rolled those babies up. I used the left over crumbs to coat them then put in the fridge until we were ready to cook.

It made 14 patties which comes out at 25c each just for the meat. I’m not sure about the rest of the ingredients but they were things I have all the time so I kinda don’t count them. So I’m calling it as half price!

Leftovers that got frozen

Leftovers that got frozen

I fried them up at dinner (I didn’t measure but maybe 1 tsp of oil each batch of 4?), served them with a salad and Moroccan couscous and they were a little bit awesome. Husband agreed (and no he doesn’t always like my cooking, he is very happy to tell me if something is a bit yuck).

Happy cooking,

The Dietitian Mummy

Chicken patties

Ingredients

500g chicken mince

1 onion, chopped finely

2 cloves garlic, chopped even more finely

1 egg

4 slices old bread (or about 2 cups packaged breadcrumbs)

Basil (6-7 leaves), chopped

Sage (4 leaves), chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Put the bread in a food processor and blitz on the highest speed until it is like breadcrumbs. If you don’t have a processor, fear not, just grate it.

Take out 1 ½ cups of the breadcrumbs and put it in a big bowl along with everything else.

Wash your hands (if you forgot at the start) and get those fingers squishing until it’s all combined.

Roll into balls then roll in the leftover breadcrumbs. Put them on a plate and chill in the fridge for as long as you have! I only had 20 minutes when I did this and they were fine.

Heat a pan with a splash of oil. When hot, put the patties in the pan and squash flat. Reduce the heat and cook until golden brown on both sides. You do this slowly so that the inside is cooked without the outside burning. It’s absolutely essential that these babies are cooked all the way through so check them before eating. You want them to look beige not pink on the inside.

And you are done. Serve them up with whatever takes your fancy.

Leave a Reply

